Home > Politics > “I Guess You Just Don’t See the Art in It”

“I Guess You Just Don’t See the Art in It”

July 19, 2008

Gillian Anderson was in a photo spread in TV Guide several years ago, and in one photo she was wearing a white fishnet veil with a thick border. My girlfriend at the time thought it was “cool,” and when I disagreed, she told me it was because I couldn’t see the art in it — in other words, my difference in opinion was the result of some flaw in my character.

I had the same feeling about that statement that I do about recent statements made by New York Governor David Paterson:

Mr. Paterson, who was a Clinton super-delegate and often joined her on the campaign trail, said the outcome of the November election would decide whether America moves beyond its legacy of slavery and segregation.

“Can America reject the crucible of race that has dictated and pervaded all of our history to embrace an African-American man who has the right polices for the next decade in this country?” he said.

He continued: “Can America go past the crippling way that we’ve shot ourselves in the foot over and over, denying opportunity to people who are bright, to people who are qualified, to people who are able because they didn’t look like us, or they didn’t come from where we came from, or they are from a different gender, or they are from the African continent? Can America push that away and find new leadership? We’ll find out in the next few months what America can do.”

Personally, I do not agree that Barack Obama “has the right polices for the next decade in this country,” and I don’t think that is because I can’t push away “the crucible of race.” A different opinion is not a character flaw.

H/T: Allahpundit at HotAir.com

Categories: Politics Tags: , ,
